hellboy: buster oakley, pg 9 – kevin nowlan

January 10, 2011

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Mike Mignola: Nobody can draw cows like Kevin. It’s a very, very odd story. I’ve never done anything like it. The setting is something I’ve never done in Hellboy. Even down to the title, I was kind of stumbling around with how – I knew the story, but I didn’t quite know how I was going to spin the actual scripting of the story. And when I came up with that title, which I believe came to me in the shower, as these things tend to do, that title made me realize ‘Oh! Ok, I know what this story is.’ I knew how the action played out, but I didn’t really know the tone of the story, if that makes sense at all. Once Kevin started turning in artwork, and we all overcame the shock of seeing Kevin draw comics, it became a matter of, ‘How am I going to write this?’ Because I work plot-style. From the plot, you see what the action is, but you don’t really get the voice of the characters. You don’t get the tone of the story. So I adjust that tone based on the artwork. What we came up with here is something really different from what I’ve done before.

text from the mike mignola interview at comicbookresources, 17.12.10, and another cover for buster oakley, this time by mike mignola, himself:

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

