singapore stories – don low

August 18, 2010

 

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.


.

.


.

.

.

.

..

.

.

/

This is my 2000th post on this blog. I had planned to write something meaningful about what I’d got out of this, but he fact is that, as with everything else here, this post is quite impromptu, as is the choice of content. It is quite appropriate, though. Don Low’s urban sketches aren’t comics, they’re the work of a person observing his environment and sit rather neatly between my work universe (of the built environment and landscape) and the alternate universe of graphic storytelling.

If you want to know why I’m bothering with all this, you could read the first post on this blog, called ‘a door opens’ (use the search bar or go back to September last year in the calendar). You could track the way that the posts have started to swing in emphasis towards a certain kind of content. You could assume that finding and recording all this material is almost addictively enjoyable (it is). And you could assume that this blog has changed my life, not because of anything direct (this is, after all, just a personal scrapbook), but because of what has been thrown up in the act of researching and considering what is here. I really didn’t know a whole world of material (*materiel*) existed when I started this and undoubtedly somewhere along the way my intentions have begun to change. A door has indeed opened. The next step? I know there will be a next step.

I hope you enjoy what you find here.

.

.

.

2 Responses to “singapore stories – don low”

  1. Mike Says:

    Thanks so much for this blog, i’ve been checking it regularly for the past few months, and it’s been a constant source of enjoyment and inspiration – really great stuff, this is probably my favorite of all the art blogs i visit daily. Cheers!

  2. olgapants Says:

    Great blog! I just discovered relatively recently it and love looking at all the beautiful drawings.
    I, as well, enjoy ink sketching and watercolors regularly. I love seeing other styles and personal accounts– a beautiful window into someone’s world.


Leave a Reply

